"Alone you go fast. Together you go far."

ubuntu communication

F | E | D

A tribute to Dr. Janet Bennett

Close

Services and main themes of work

Services

Trainings

Conception of training programs

Development of pedagogical materials

Training of trainers

Coaching

Supervision

Facilitated dialoguesdialogue


The main themes of my work

Intercultural communication

Approaches to conflict across cultures

Team, teambuilding, multicultural teambuilding

Management in a multicultural setting

Interreligious dialogue

Cultural identity

Multicultural identity

Migration and integration

Participatory approach to community development

Véronique Schoeffel


Véronique Schoeffel
I grew up in Alsace, a bilingual region of France. My childhood in that region taught me to navigate between two languages and to develop from early on a multicultural identity. Thus, studying at the School for Translation and Interpretation at the University in Geneva seemed a natural next-step.

The five years I spent in South Africa confronted me with the complexity of intercultural communication, and with the difficulty of understanding one another across cultures. I realized then that intercultural competence was a key to the sustainability of my work in international development. Back in Switzerland, I dedicated many years working with organisations active in the field of development, sensitizing them to the importance of intercultural competence in their work.

In the past few years, my field of work has expanded beyond international development. It now also reaches the fields of health, education, religious bodies, administration, and corporations.

I am deeply convinced that interreligious competence is not only a key to professional and economic success. It is, far more importantly, a contribution to peace in a world that needs it more than ever.

F | E | D

« Alone, you go fast. Together, you go far. »

Offre et thèmes de travail

Offre

Cours et séminaires

Elaboration de programmes de formation

Développement de matériel pédagogique

Formation de formateurs

Coaching

Supervision

Facilitation de dialogue

 

Les thèmes de travail

Communication interculturelle

Gestion de conflit (en situation interculturelle)

Team, teambuilding, multicultural teambuilding

Management en situation multiculturelle

Dialogue interreligieux

Identité culturelle

Identité multiculturelle

Migration et intégration

Méthodes participatives pour le développement communautaire

Véronique Schoeffel

vero_2

Mon enfance en Alsace m’a appris à naviguer entre deux langues et cultures, et à développer dès le plus jeune âge une identité multiculturelle. Les études à l’Ecole de Traduction et d’Interprétation à l’Université de Genève ne furent donc pas le fruit du hasard.

C’est en Afrique du Sud, où j’ai vécu pendant cinq ans que j’ai été confrontée à la complexité de la communication interculturelle, à la difficulté de se comprendre d’une culture à l’autre. La compétence interculturelle fut l’une des clés de durabilité dans mon travail de coopération internationale. De retour en Suisse, j’ai consacré de nombreuses années à sensibiliser les acteurs de la coopération suisse à l’importance de l’interculturel dans leur travail.

Depuis quelques années mon axe de travail s’est élargi. Il inclut désormais des acteurs des domaines public et privé, en Suisse et à l’étranger. Le dialogue interreligieux a également trouvé sa place dans mon travail actuel.

Je suis convaincue que les compétences interculturelles et interreligieuses sont non seulement une clé de réussite au niveau professionnel et économique. Elles sont surtout, un facteur de paix dans le monde, à une époque qui en a plus que jamais besoin.